essex county board of county commissioners honor west orange high school football mountaineers

The West Orange High School Football Team, Head Coach Darnell Grant (4th from Right), Mountaineers End Zone Club President Melba Mullins (blue dress) with Essex County District 4 Commissioner Leonard Luciano (Back Row, 3rd from left) Commissioner At-Large Patricia Sebold (Front Row, 5th from Right), Commissioner At-Large Brendan W. Gill (2nd from Right) and Commissioner At-Large Romaine Graham (right).   PHOTO BY LLOYD HOLMES 

(Newark, NJ) – On Wednesday, February 15, 2023, the Essex County Board of County Commissioners honored the West Orange High School Football Team for winning its first state championship in their program history.


Commissioner At-Large Patricia Sebold of Livingston and District 4 Commissioner Leonard Luciano co-sponsored and presented commendations to Head Coach Darnell Grant and the West Orange High School “Mountaineers.” Commissioner Sebold congratulated the team for demonstrating that “when hard work, sacrifice, and teamwork are harnessed and guided in the right direction, goals are achieved.” 


The West Orange High School Football Team achieved the North Jersey, Section 2, Group 5 Championship in the NJSIAA/Rothman Orthopedics State Sectional by beating #1-seeded Phillipsburg High School 28-76 on November 10, 2022, in Phillipsburg, New Jersey. The team not only distinguished itself on the field, but also maintained a Grade B academic average during the football season, and is known for its players’ high character and community involvement. 


The West Orange High School Football Team is comprised of the following members: Myles Adams, Quran Ali, Gensley Auguste, Justin Barr, Christopher Barrino, Matthew Barrino Alexander Butterfield, Ricardo Camacho, James Felton, I'yan R. Gainer, Samuel Godinez, Brandon Green Carlos Henriquez, Rayel Hunter, Christian Jean-Gilles, Jake Jeffay, Jarvis Jones, Emmanuel Kales, Saboor Karriem, Justin Laniyan, Mason Malloy, Ryan McFadden, Ryan Morris, Al-Jahmir Newsome, Elijah Pean, Isaiah Pena, Wesley Robles, Kesley Romelien, Myles Snead, Raza Stanley, Amir Stewart, Jay Straker, Jhensen Touze, Johnathan Vincent, Adonis White, Terrell Wilfong, Jehki Williams and Zekai Wimberly.


Sixteen Mountaineers were individually recognized for outstanding performance: New Jersey Football Coaches Association North 2, All State, Super 100: Jarvis Jones and Saboor Karriem; All-State 1st Team: Saboor Karriem; All-State 2nd Team: Gensley Auguste; All Group 1st Team: Saboor Karriem; All Group






2nd Team: Gensley Auguste; All Group 3rd Team: Myles Snead; Super Essex Conference, 1st Team All-Conference: Jarvis Jones, Myles Snead, Saboor Karriem, Jay Straker, Mason Malloy, Amir Stewart, Gensley Auguste, Jhenson Touze, and Terrell Wilfong; 2nd Team All-Conference: Jake Jeffay, Chris Barrino, I’yan Gainer, Jehki Williams, Ricardo Camacho and Brandon Green.


After applauding Head Coach Darnell Grant for being named 2022 “Coach of the Year” by the New Jersey Super Football Conference, Commissioner Luciano commended the players’ parents as exemplary nurturers and promoters.  He singled out Mountaineers End Zone Club President Melba Mullins as a “Booster Mom Extraordinaire” who “has gone above and beyond in her enthusiasm and encouragement for this team.”


Commissioners Sebold and Luciano were joined at the podium by the coaches and players presenting them with framed Commendations and replicas for each team member.  Coach Grant spoke of his pride in his team, and Captains Jarvis Jones and Saboor Karriem shared comments on behalf of all the Mountaineers before official photos were taken. 


The Essex County Board of County Commissioners was pleased to spotlight these exemplary outcomes of teamwork among teammates, coaches, families, school communities and volunteers who coordinated many layers and moving parts for a successful program.  It pledged its support to the athletes throughout the high school years and into their future endeavors.


Looking for more information on the Essex County Board of Commissioners? The Essex County Commissioners Mobile App is now available for download on the Apple and Google Play Stores.


* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *
For Additional Information - Contact:
Susan Garofalo, Public Information Officer
Essex County Board of County Commissioners
973-621-4452 (phone) 973-621-5695 (fax)
Follow Us:


(973) 621-4486


(973) 621-5695


Board of County Commissioners,
County of Essex
465 Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.,
Room 558 Hall of Records,
Newark, New Jersey 07102